Skip to content

Facebook depresses me

April 24, 2011

It seriously does.

When I’m finding new levels of misery and being sad, I try to kill time by going on Facebook. But the view just sickens me. I see photos of people leading happy and colourful lives, friends who spread love to other friends through posts and videos and tagging photos of themselves and continuous status updates of their exciting lives. Of course, I’m happy for them. I really am. But, honestly, I hate seeing all that when I’m blue. It looks like all of them are leading lives I want to live except me. And that thought is just depressing.

I had read an article months back about how the site can depress people and how the healthy decision would be to stay off it. But I can’t. It’s not because I’m obsessed with Facebook but because if I choose to avoid viewing it or simply stop Facebooking, I’m just running away from it, only to develop an unexplainable fear to open it in the future. The other reason would be because it serves as a CNN- for –friends. It’s the only way of finding out what’s happening in my friends lives and keeping in touch with them.  

But think of it. There are other people who feel the same as me; people who actually dread logging on to site. I’m just thinking, pretty soon psychology would probably have to make space for a new area called ‘Social Media depression’ and later a Freud Junior would come out with his fantastic theories to differentiate Social Media depression under men and women.  I don’t think I’ll respond well to that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 3:21 pm

    I agree with you that Facebook is depressing, I hardly ever go on it anymore, only very briefly. Most of the people on there I haven’t seen or spoken to in ages and probably won’t do anytime soon. And like you said it’s been so long since I spent any time on Facebook I really don’t want to go on it again.

Trackbacks

  1. Facebook depresses me (via I travel in my head) « Good finds @wp.com

Leave a Reply

